Astronomy Groups: Kent

Ashford Astronomical Society (AsAS), founded 2007.  Members (70-2016) meet first at Stanhope in Ashford but have now moved to Woodchurch Memorial Hall, Woodchurch, Ashford (TN26 3QB).

Cranbrook and District Science and Astronomical Society (CDSAG), founded by 2006.  Members meet at Cranbrook School at Waterloo Rd, Cranbrook  (TN17 3JD) and the use of the Alan Young Telescope (22-inch reflector)

Crayford Manor House Astronomical Society (CMHAS), founded 1956 with Dr Hugh Percival Wilkins as its first president. Originally meeting at Crayford Manor House (F.E. College) where they erected their Wilkins Memorial Observatory (24-inch reflector).  In 2012, due to the closing of the college, the society moved to Parsonage Lane Pavilion,
Parsonage Lane, Sutton-at-Hone (DA4 9HD), where their observatory was re-established as the Dick Chambers Sutton-at-Hone Observatory housing a 16-inch Meade SCT reflecting telescope.

Edenbridge and District Astronomers (EDA), founded 2010 to encourage astronomy, for both beginners and the more experienced.  Members (20-2016) meet at Lingfield Community Centre (RH7 6AB).

Folkestone Astronomy Club (FAC), founded 2015.  Few details on facebook pages.

Herne Bay Amateur Astronomical Society (HBAAS), founde (?).  Members meet monthly (4th Fri.) at Unit 14, 227, Sea Street, Herne Bay, (CT6 8JZ) and observe at Broomfield Community Park, Ford Road, Broomfield (CT6 7AD).

Mid-Kent Astronomical Society (MidKAS), founded 1976. Members from mid, east and north Kent (100 – 2018) meet regularly at Bredhurst Village Hall, Hurstwood Road,
Bredhurst, Gillingham (ME7 3JZ) and observe at their James Irwin Observatory in Canterbury that houses a 14-inch Celstron SCT (14-inch reflecting telescope).

Orpington Astronomical Society (OrpAS), founded 1980 when 35 people met at Darrick Wood School and decided to found an astronomical society from an evening class run by Gilbert Satterthwaite.  Members meet monthly (4th Wed.) at  St. Francis of Assisi Church Hall on Greencourt Road in Petts Wood (BR5 1QW).

South East Kent Astronomical Society (SEKAS), founded 1972. Members (100 – 2018) meet monthly (2nd Sat.) at Alkham Village Hall, Hogbrook Hill Lane, Alkham (CT15 7BU) and have recently established their SEKAS Observatory at a dark sky site.

Thanet Astronomy Group (TAG), founded 2013.  Members meet weekly at at the West Bay Cafe, Sea Road, Westgate-on-Sea (CT8 8QZ).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s